How to avoid traffic jams

September 17, 2009 at 17:39 | Posted in Science, traffic | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I’m sure there are entire university departments dedicated to the science of traffic control – engineers, computer scientists, what have you. I’ve found really interesting simulations on-line, and read the weirdest stories – such as the one about how blocking a major street somewhere in New York actually seemed to improve traffic, rather than disrupt it as city managers had feared (if anybody can provide me with a reference to this story, I’d really appreciate that).

So I found the little video on how a single driver can improve traffic flow for miles behind him really intrigued me. Next time I’m out and about in my car I’ll give this a shot – should be even more interesting than my usual game of exiting the fast-flowing lane just before it starts slowing down.

(you may have to click on the link if the video does not display properly)

How to break up a traffic jam.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

